Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Podcast logo RSS feed logo

Staff Update

Cindy Hagley, water quality specialist, and Jesse Schomberg, coastal communities and land use planning extension educator, earned an environmental stewardship award for their work on the DuluthStreams.org Web site from the St. Louis River Citizens Action Committee in recognition of their efforts towards protection and preservation of area streams. Representatives from NRRI and the City of Duluth are project cooperators.

Marie Zhuikov, communications coordinator, earned an outstanding service award from the University of Minnesota Duluth. The award is designed to recognize employees who have consistently performed their responsibilities in a superior manner and have enhanced the objectives of their departments.

Doug Jensen, aquatic invasive species program coordinator, and Zhuikov received a $218,545 grant from the National Sea Grant College Program for “Extending and Evaluating the National Stop Aquatic Hitchhikers Campaign Along Key Invasion Corridors in Three Upper Midwest States.” The two-year project, done in collaboration with Wisconsin Sea Grant and many other partners, will feature the Stop Aquatic Hitchhikers! logo and messages in a multi-media campaign targeting boaters and anglers along ten highway invasion corridors leading to and from waters infested with aquatic invasive species in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Iowa.

Sharon Moen, editor, received a $2,000 grant from Minnesota's Lake Superior Coastal Program for “Walk, Ride, and Runoff,” a competitive bike-and-running team race and a non-competitive community walk involving water quality education.

By Sea Grant Staff
April 2005

Return to April 2005 Seiche

This page last modified on March 01, 2018     © 1996 – 2019 Regents of the University of Minnesota     The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Podcast logo RSS feed logo
Logo: NOAA Logo: UMD Logo: University of Minnesota Logo: University of Minnesota Extension