Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Podcast logo RSS feed logo

Staff Update

Sea Grant staff earned two awards from the Great Lakes Sea Grant Network, which were presented at the group's meeting in September, at Put-in-Bay, OH. Marie Zhuikov, communications coordinator; Sharon Moen, editor; and Doug Jensen, Aquatic Invasive Species Information Center coordinator; and Sea Grant colleagues from Pennsylvania, Illinois-Indiana, New York, and Michigan earned the Outstanding Program Award for "ESCAPE from Exotics" a Newspaper in Education, essay contest and teacher training project.

Carl Richards, director; Jeff Gunderson, associate director; Cindy Hagley, water quality specialist; Rich Axler from the Natural Resources Research Institute; Shirley Nordrum, Leech Lake Tribal Council; John Persell, Minnesota Chippewa Tribe Research Laboratory; and Michael McDonald, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, earned a Superior Program Award for "Assessing and Communicating Risk: A Partnership to Evaluate a Superfund Site on Leech Lake Tribal Lands."
Jesse Schomberg, coastal communities and land use planning extension educator, received an award from the Minnesota Chapter of the American Planning Association for the presentation and compact disk, "Linking Local Ordinances to Water Quality."

By Sea Grant Staff
December 2004

Return to December 2004 Seiche

This page last modified on March 01, 2018     © 1996 – 2018 Regents of the University of Minnesota     The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Podcast logo RSS feed logo
Logo: NOAA Logo: UMD Logo: University of Minnesota Logo: University of Minnesota Extension