Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Podcast logo RSS feed logo

Our New Advisory Committee

Carl Richards

Sea Grant is an organization that is only as good as the connections it has with the community it serves. A large component of that connection comes through our Sea Grant advisory committee which is composed of a variety of persons from the community we serve. In the last several months we’ve revised the membership of that committee and have sought their input on a number of planning efforts.

For example, recently we held a retreat with Sea Grant staff and the advisory committee to discuss the status of our outreach programs and to identify strengths and directions for future outreach efforts. Such interactions are enormously useful for gauging program success and keeping our programs aligned with community needs.

Ideas were generated at this retreat on both long-term needs as well as specific tools and mechanisms we can use to extend Sea Grant-based information to the public. In the near future, the advisory committee will assist in the review of research proposals that have been submitted for our next federal grant cycle. Particularly, the committee will provide input on the relevancy of research proposals to our overall mission.

The current committee consists of a few faces who have been partners with Sea Grant over the last several years and a number of new faces who are providing fresh insights to our program.

Our current advisory committee consists of: Victor Bloomfield (Vice Provost for Research and Associate Dean of the UM Graduate School), Steve Bradbury (Director, Mid-Continent Ecology Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency), Pat Christopherson (Director, Lutsen-Tofte Tourism Association), Harold Dziuk (Turtle Lake Association), Mike Furtman (freelance outdoors writer), Keith Hanson (Environmental Resources Division, Minnesota Power), Suzanne Hanson (Northeast Region Manager, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency), Ron Harnack (Executive Director, Board of Water and Soil Resources), Timothy Holst (Director, UMD’s Center for Freshwater Research and Policy), Tom Huntley (UMD Medical School and the Minnesota House of Representatives), David Lonsdale (Executive Director, Great Lake Aquarium), Shirley Nordrum (Environmental Director, Leech Lake Tribal Council), Vince Magnuson (UMD Vice Chancellor for Academic Administration), Jackie Morris (District Director for Congressman Oberstar), Stuart Sivertson (Owner, Sivertson Fisheries), Ray Skelton (Environmental and Government Affairs Director, Seaway Port Authority of Duluth), Kurt Soderberg (Director, Western Lake Superior Sanitary District), Okechukwu Ukaga (Regional Partnership Director, Cloquet Forest Center), and Paul (Jack) Wingate (Fisheries Research Manager, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources).

We’d like to thank the members of our advisory committee for taking the time and energy to interact with the Minnesota Sea Grant Program. We’re committed to the idea that their involvement in our programs will strengthen our ability to provide quality information to the public and policy-makers for the decision-making process.

carl’s signature

Carl Richards
Minnesota Sea Grant Director

By Carl Richards
June 2000

Return to June 2000 Seiche

This page last modified on March 01, 2018     © 1996 – 2019 Regents of the University of Minnesota     The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Podcast logo RSS feed logo
Logo: NOAA Logo: UMD Logo: University of Minnesota Logo: University of Minnesota Extension